iPhone Tip: How to Turn Off Camera Notifications

iPhone digital camera notification

You might have noticed that whenever you connect your iPhone or iPod touch to your computer, the operating system recognizes the device as a digital camera and displays a notification. 

This can be quite annoying and can occur in both Windows and Mac OS X systems. This is because digital imaging devices are set to this option by default. 

However, it is possible to disable this notification by following the steps mentioned below. Please ensure that your iPhone or iPod touch is connected to your computer before you proceed. 

For Windows Vista and Windows 7 users:

Step 1: Click on Start -> Control Panel -> Hardware and Sound

Step 2: Double click the 'AutoPlay' link 

Step 3: Scroll down to the bottom of the screen for the 'Devices' section. You will see your iPhone or iPod touch listed here if it is already connected

Step 4: Replace the 'Import pictures and videos using Windows' option with 'Take no action'

iPhone digital camera notification

Step 5: Click on 'Save' to complete the process

For Windows XP users:

Step 1: Click on Start -> Control Panel

Step 2: If you are in the 'Category View', select the 'Printers and Hardware' option. Alternatively, if you are in the 'Classic View', skip this step and go to the next step

Step 3: Double click to open the 'Scanners and Camera' section. If your iPhone or iPod touch is already connected to the computer, you will see them listed here

Step 4: Right click on the iPhone or iPod touch icon and choose 'Properties'

Step 5: Under the 'Events' tab

    (a) Under the 'Select an event' option, pick 'Camera Connected'

    (b) Under the 'Action' section, pick 'Take No Action'

Step 6: Click on 'Apply' and 'OK' to complete the process

For Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard users:

Step 1: Under the startup disk, go to Applications folder and launch 'Image Capture'

Step 2: If your iPhone or iPod touch is connected to your computer, you will now see it listed on the left-side pane. Click on the corresponding icon

Step 3: On the bottom of the left pane, you will see a 'Show Device Settings' button. Click on this button and select 'No Application' in the pop-up menu that appears.

iPhone digital camera notification

Step 4: Quit 'Image Capture' to complete the process

For Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard users:

Step 1: Open the Applications folder and launch 'Image Capture'

Step 2: Go to Image Capture -> Preferences

Step 3: For the 'When a camera is connected, open:' menu under the Camera section, choose 'No Application'

iPhone digital camera notification

Step 4: Quit Image Capture to complete the process

It's as simple as that. As always, do let us know if this works for you. 

[via CNET]

Like this post? Share it!

  • http://profile.typepad.com/6p0120a59cd7c0970c www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1378374915

    it doesnt bother me at all… but thanks for the tip

  • Bryan

    Thanks, I was wondering how to do that.

  • Rodrick

    THANX!!!!
    this was really bother me ::D

  • msteelmen

    thanks a lot!!!!

  • zabo

    iphone frozen logo even after rebooting on several occasions, can anyone help please