Do you use SnapChat and want to save the photos and videos that your friends send to you before they are deleted? Then you should check out SnapHack, a new app that recently landed in the iOS App Store.
The 99-cent app requires you to login with your SnapChat credentials and intercepts your SnapChats before you view them on the SnapChat service. When a new snap arrives, users need to remember to open the SnapHack app to view the photos and videos first. Once they are in SnapHack, they can download the media to their device for safe-keeping.
SnapHack is not affiliated with SnapChat and may cause a stir among SnapChat users. Though many recipients will be happy that they can download any snap they want, senders might be miffed that their photos and videos can be saved for later viewing.
This download feature goes against the heart and soul of SnapChat, which lets users send images or videos that’ll disappear as soon as they are viewed. It allows users the freedom to send silly, racy or otherwise embarrassing photos or videos to friends because they know the media will be deleted right away.
The LA Times reached out to SnapChat about this app, and the company declined to comment.
[Via LA Times]