Twitter officially rolling out Mute functionality to all users

mute-twitter

Earlier this month, we told you that Twitter is rolling out mute functionality to certain users of the Twitter iOS app. Today, the social network is rolling out mute to all users on iPhone, Android and web.

From Twitter’s blog post:

Mute gives you even more control over the content you see on Twitter by letting you remove a user’s content from key parts of your Twitter experience.

Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user. The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline. The muted user will not know that you’ve muted them, and of course you can unmute at any time.

You can mute a user by tapping “•••” on any of their tweets and selecting mute @username. Alternatively, you can go to their profile, tap on the gear icon and select mute @username. You might not see mute available to you immediately as Twitter is gradually rolling out the feature to all users in the coming weeks. For more information on Mute, visit Twitter’s support site.

Third-party Twitter clients have long offered similar, and even more advanced muting features, as we detailed here. The good news is that third-party developers will be able to tap into the mute feature via the API, so your mute list should be synced across multiple Twitter clients (provided all of them add support for it).

Let us know in the comments if you’re seeing the mute option on your device.

Like this post? Share it!

Categories: Twitter