How to turn off automatic renewal of Apple Music subscription

Apple Music logo

Apple’s highly anticipated streaming music service — Apple Music — was launched earlier today. The service allows you to stream over 30 million music tracks on your iOS and Mac for a monthly subscription fee of $9.99 per month.

Apple is also offering a more tempting option under its family plan, where you are required to pay only $14.99 per month and up to six of your family members can use the service. While the first three months of Apple Music are completely free to use, Apple still requires you to subscribe to a plan on Apple Music when you first start the new music app in iOS 8.4.

In addition, the subscription service has been set to renew automatically. This means that when the free trial period of Apple Music ends, Apple will automatically charge your credit card for Apple Music. Ideally, Apple should prompt Apple Music users towards the end of the trial period whether they want to continue using the service or not.

Nonetheless, while you cannot skip subscribing to the service when you initially start Apple Music, you can at least switch off automatic renewal of the subscription so that Apple does not charge you automatically when the trial period ends. Here’s how.

Step 1: Open up the Music app on your iPhone or iPad and tap the My Account shortcut icon located at the top-left corner.

apple-music-account-icon

Step 2: From the dialog box that pops up, tap on ‘My Account’ followed by ‘Manage’ located under Subscriptions.

Apple-Music-account

Step 3: Toggle the ‘Automatic Renewal’ option to off to make sure that Apple does not automatically charge you for Apple Music when the free trial period is about to end. You will need to confirm your selection by selecting the ‘Turn Off’ option from the dialog box that pops up.

Apple-Music-auto-renewal

And that’s it. You can now enjoy the trial period of Apple Music without worrying about Apple charging you towards the end of the trial period. At the end of three months, you will automatically be prompted to renew your Apple Music subscription otherwise you will not be able to use Apple Music.