Apple today silently added a new feature to iCloud.com that allows users to restore accidentally deleted files, calendars or contacts.
The ‘Restore Files’, ‘Restore Contacts’, and ‘Restore Calendars’ options are located at the bottom of the Settings menu in iCloud.com.
The ‘Restore Files’ option will allow you to restore your deleted files to iCloud Drive. The timestamp of when the file was deleted will be shown along with the number of days remaining until when you will be able to restore that file. For now, Apple is allowing iCloud users to restore any file or changes that they have made to their calendar entries or contacts over the last 30 days.
If a user restores contacts or calendar entries, their current calendar and contact entries will be automatically saved and archived in iCloud as a different version. A small side effect of restoring a calendar is that it will automatically cause invitations to be resent and sharing to be disabled.
It is likely that Apple will be adding the option to restore deleted files, contacts and calendars to OS X and iOS with a future update.