Offload Unused Apps in iOS 11 Automatically Removes Less Frequently Used Apps to Free up Storage Space


Due to the sheer number of new features that iOS 11 comes with, it is understandable that Apple could not go through them all while unveiling the OS at WWDC yesterday. One such minor new feature in iOS 11 that Apple did not mention on stage is Offload Unused Apps.

As the name suggests, iOS 11 will automatically remove apps from your iPhone or iPad if you have not used them in a while. All associated data with the app will continue to be present on the device so that when you reinstall the app again from the App Store, it will work just like its supposed to.

Shortcuts of offloaded apps will continue to show up on your iOS home screen, though they will be greyed out.

This is a great feature to have especially for owners of 16GB iPhones. While we end up installing hundreds of applications and games from the App Store, the probability of using all of them on a regular basis is pretty much nil. So, when such apps are removed from one’s device, it is unlikely that the user is going to notice or care much about it.

If you are running iOS 11 beta on your iPhone or iPad, you can find the Offload Unused Apps feature under Settings -> Apple ID -> iTunes & App Stores. The feature is disabled by default and needs to be manually enabled by the user.

Like this post? Share it!