Apple Pay Expands to Finland, Denmark, Sweden, and United Arab Emirates

Apple today expanded Apple Pay to Finland, Denmark, Sweden, and the United Arab Emirates. The company had first revealed its plans of bringing Apple Pay to these markets back in August. 

iPhone 6 and higher owners can now add their supported debit/credit card to Apple Pay in these regions and use their smartphone for payment during the checkout process at a retail store with an NFC terminal. In addition, users in these countries will also be able to use Apple Pay for payments made on the web and inside apps.

In the United Arab Emirates, the following banks and cards are supported by Apple Pay at launch: Emirates Islamic, Emirates NBD, HSBC, mashreq, RAKBANK, and Standard Chartered Bank. In Demark, Jyske Bank and Nordea support Apple Pay, though it is limited to only Visa debit cards for now. In Finland and Sweden, Apple Pay is supported by debit/credit cards from Nordea and ST1, with support from Edenred and N26 coming soon.

You can find a list of all the popular retailers supporting Apple Pay at launch in these countries over at the official Apple Pay website of each region.

Apple Pay is now available on 20 markets now with support for over thousands of retailers and hundreds of banks. Apple Pay is available on the iPhone 6/6s, iPhone 7, iPhone 8, and the upcoming iPhone X.

[Via Apple]

Like this post? Share it!