How to Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently in 5 Easy Steps


How to Delete Your Facebook Account

The #DeleteFacebook movement is just the icing on this cake. Facebook has turned into a toxic environment over the past couple of years. So much so that just quitting Facebook can improve your mental health.

If you’re tired of looking at news stories of videos, you might want to finally say goodbye to Facebook. The latest story of how Cambridge Analytica stole 50 million user profiles and used them to influence the last US election is a wake-up call. It shows just how much data Facebook has and just how insecure it is.

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account

You can either deactivate or delete your Facebook account. Deactivating your account will log you out from Facebook and will make your profile invisible. All your messages will still be visible, but you won’t be able to use Facebook’s website to message users. For that, you’ll need to use the Facebook Messenger app.

If you want to simply deactivate your account, click on the Down Arrow button from the Facebook toolbar and go to the Settings page. Here, you’ll see a Manage Account section at the bottom. Tap on the Edit button and then click on the Deactivate your account link.

Delete Facebook Account 2

How to Delete Your Facebook Account

Are you ready to say goodbye to your Facebook account forever? When you delete your Facebook account, you’ll lose your friend list, your wall, posts, and access to your current Facebook Messenger account. Once your account is deleted, it’s gone. You can’t recover it.

Weirdly enough, Facebook won’t automatically delete all your posts from its network. So before you quit, go into groups or threads where you’ve left comments or messages and delete the ones you no longer want there.

Step 1: Before leaving Facebook, it would be wise to download all your photos from Facebook. You can use the DownAlbum Chrome extension to do this. You can also download a zip of all your Facebook data. From the Settings page, click on the Download a copy link at the bottom of the page.

Delete Facebook Account 1

Step 2: To actually delete your account, you’ll have to go to a separate Help page. Go to Facebook’s Delete Account page, and click on Delete my Account. And that’s it really.

Step 3: You will be prompted to enter the password. Enter the password.

Step 4: Next, enter the captcha, and click the Ok button to continue.

Step 5: Click Ok to delete the Facebook account permanently.

Facebook will give you 14 days to change your mind. During which, you can log back in to get back your profile. After that, your profile will be deleted. And in 90 days, Facebook will delete your data from its service.

Are You Deleting Facebook?

Do you use Facebook often these days? Is it a source or joy or stress? Are you going to delete or deactivate your Facebook account? Please share your thoughts in the comments below.