Back in May, it was confirmed that Instagram was planning on launching a new feature that would allow users to quickly discover if they’ve seen all of the content they’d want to in their feed.
The feature is designed to let you know if you’ve seen all the posts from the people you follow over the last couple of days. At the time there wasn’t a timeline for when the new feature would see the light of day for end users, but the wait hasn’t been long and now it’s rolling out. On Monday, the Facebook-owned Instagram announced that the “You’re All Caught Up” feature is rolling out now.
It works exactly as planned: Now, when you have seen all the posts from the folks you follow from the past 48 hours, there will be a banner that will show up in the feed letting you know you’re all caught up. It consists of a big green checkmark, so it won’t be easy to miss. Below that checkmark, though, there will be older content beyond the 48 hour cutoff, along with existing posts you’ve already scrolled through.
“Today, you’ll start noticing a “You’re All Caught Up” message when you’ve seen every post from the last two days. We’ve heard that it can be difficult to keep track of your seen posts. With this message, you’ll have a better understanding of your Feed and know you haven’t missed recent photos or videos.”
Instagram says the new feature is available now in the updated version of its app for iOS and Android users.
The update should help reduce some casual scrolling, but the feed itself is still based on the algorithm working behind the scenes. So, while you may now get a banner that lets you know you’ve seen all the content over the last 48 hours, it will still probably be out of order, as it has been since Instagram launched the algorithm-based feed.[via Instagram]