Facebook Messenger Launches an ‘Unsend’ Feature

Facebook Messenger adds an unsend feature

Facebook Messenger is one of the most used messaging platforms out there, and it’s finally adding the ability to unsend a message.

As was first reported on Tuesday by The Verge, Facebook Messenger is introducing its official “unsend” feature. This can help with typos, for sure, but it will also come in handy when and if you send a message to the wrong recipient. It’s a pretty straightforward process: Just tap on the message you’ve sent within 10 minutes and you’ll have the option to pull the message back.

When you do unsend the message, you will have two options to choose from: The ability to remove the message for everyone in the conversation, or remove the message just for yourself. If you select the former, the text will be replaced with content that says it was replaced by you.

According to a statement made by Facebook to the publication, the feature underwent “some improvements to provide broader functionality to people using Messenger”. The social network says the feature is rolling out now to all Messenger users on iOS and Android. You will have to make sure you’re running the latest version of the app.

The rollout of this feature has been a long time coming, ever since it was discovered that the company’s CEO, Mark Zuckerberg, had the feature already. Back in October the company announced that it was working on an unsend feature for all users, and that it would limit Zuckerberg’s use of it until the public had access to it. It took several months, but the feature is finally here.

[via The Verge]