In a bid to make more people use Moments — its photo sharing and backup service — Facebook is notifying users that if they don’t install the app, all the photos synced from their phone to Facebook will be deleted.
Facebook is also notifying users through an email that they have until July 7th to make the switch to Moments, failing which their photos will deleted. Facebook had announced late last year that it would be shutting down its photo syncing service, but the latest deadline from the company is harsher in nature.
While unethical, the move has had the desired effect for Facebook and has pushed Moments as the number one app in the iOS App Store.
facebook told me we will delete ur photos if u don't download moments by 7 july
— Rishabh Gusain (@RISHABHrpg) June 10, 2016
Facebook had first launched its photo syncing service for iOS back in 2012. However, last year, the company replaced its photo syncing service with Moments that apart from syncing photos also makes it possible to privately share them with your friends or families.
Moments was initially only available in the United States, but Facebook recently expanded the service to Canada and EU sans its facial recognition feature.
This is not the first time that Facebook is forcing users to switch to one of its services. The company employed similar tactics to promote its Messenger app. It decoupled the messaging feature from the official Facebook app, which automatically lead to an increase in downloads of the Messenger app. No wonder the Messenger app has consistently remained among the top 10 apps in the iOS App Store. The forced switch to Moments is already having the desired effect for Facebook, with its downloads increasing by 2-3 folds over the last few days.[Via TechCrunch]