Photos

First look: All-new Photos for OS X

First look: All-new Photos for OS X


Apple last year announced that it was sunsetting Aperture and iPhoto and replacing it with Photos for OS X. Though there has been much discussion about Photos for the Mac, the first version of the software was released today to developers as part OS X 10.10.3.  While still in the early stages of development, the app is receiving favorable accolades by reviewers at MacWorld and Yahoo Tech.  Read on the first impressions for Photos for the Mac. 

New UXKit dev framework found within new Photos for Mac

New UXKit dev framework found within new Photos for Mac

Photos for Mac has been found within the first beta for OS X 10.10.3, which was released earlier on February 5, and now something a bit deeper has been found as well.

Apple no longer teasing Photos app for OS X, but it’s still coming

Apple no longer teasing Photos app for OS X, but it’s still coming

Remember the desktop Photos app that Apple announced alongside Yosemite last year? We were promised an “early 2015” launch, but Apple has how taken down all of the Photos teaser pages from its website. Don’t worry, though; that doesn’t mean it’s no longer coming.

How to use iOS 8’s new Photo Editing tools

How to use iOS 8’s new Photo Editing tools

The Photos app includes a number of new photo editing features, which Apple says will allow users with whatever skill level to create photo masterpieces.

I’ll walk you through all the new photo editing features in iOS 8.

How to recover deleted photos and videos in iOS 8

How to recover deleted photos and videos in iOS 8

Prior to iOS 8, it wasn’t possible to recover a photo or a video if you’ve accidentally deleted it. The goods news is that you can finally recover a delete photo or video in iOS 8.

How to permanently delete photos and videos in iOS 8

How to permanently delete photos and videos in iOS 8

Unlike iOS 7, the photos and videos deleted in iOS 8 are not permanently deleted when you delete them in the Photos app, instead they’re just marked for deletion, and are accessible in the Recently Deleted album on your iOS device for 30 days.